china · teaching

On Grading Final Exams in Huadu, Guangzhou

This will be a brief post.

I feel as though I will be shortly losing my job. The students who the school cares about did horrendously on their final exam. The Fair Planning and Management class I was tossed into, almost as an afterthought, did fine. There were some failures, as I have mentioned here, but most of the class did well.

I cannot say the same for this other batch of students.

My face lights up when someone gets a B in Business English. None of the students seem to read the instructions!

A question will say, “In three sentences, describe one of the words below,” and the students will write about three of the words with one sentence for each. A question will say, “Provide three examples of how to improve a business’s productivity,” and the students will provide either a) three sentences on how a business can improve sales or b) two sentences on how a business can improve productivity and one on how a business can improve sales.

There has been one B+ and, truly, that was an undeserved B+.

Woe is me. I feel as though I have failed them.

3 thoughts on “On Grading Final Exams in Huadu, Guangzhou

Leave a comment.

