china · foodstuff

Eating Out in China

While I was traveling through the Henan province of China, I stopped in the city of Luoyang to meet with a friend from college. He brought me out to many restaurants, but the most interesting experience was the one captured in the painting behind this post.

Below is the unaltered version:
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

At the time, I had no idea near all of the patrons were glaring at this American taking pictures of their dining. I am not sympathetic, however, due to the innumerable times people stopped me on the side of the street for a photo (which my ego delighted in).

You will notice that, in the photo, at each table rests a rectangular box. These are something of an oven, though I am reluctant to describe them as such. Hotpot may be more accurate, but, for caution’s sake, I shall refer to them as ovens.

Below is our oven full to the brim with goodies:
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The oven was filled with a broth in which all of the other ingredients soaked, so while the servings were enormous, the entire oven was not a powder keg of taste. In fact, once we had finished with a good portion of the topside meats and vegetables, my friend left and returned with noodles from a convenience store. Cooked in the same broth, it had to be the best part of the meal.

I love my noodles.

Leave a comment.

